Volleyball Victoria Country Championship Commission



Executive Summary:


The 2018 Volleyball Victoria Country Volleyball Championships were hosted by Geelong Amateur Volleyball Association at the Eagle Stadium, Werribee over the Queen’s Birthday Long weekend, 9-11 June 2018. 


This was the first time this facility, which has 12 court areas available, had been used for a volleyball competition and unfortunately a problem with a floor socket on one of the show courts resulted in Men’s Division One being relocated to court 11 at the beginning of match one. Six courts were used throughout the weekend. Thirty-one teams, six less than last year, competed in six divisions, three each of men and women. Division three was maintained for both men and women for the second year however the Men’s Division three had the minimum three teams. A further equipment failure saw the PA and music unavailable for the Women’s Division One final resulting in this match not being presented at the usual standard for which the organisers apologise; the fault was rectified in time for the final match, Men’s Division One final.


Geelong Volleyball are thanked for the work they put into organizing this year’s event. With support from the Geelong Volleyball Foundation, Eagle Stadium, S3 Promotions and central trophies, the event was able to run with the knowledge of financial security. A sincere thank you is extended to the sponsors for their support of regional volleyball.


The Volleyball Victoria Country Championships Commission again oversaw the organization of the event, providing guidance and support in the presentation of the premier event in regional Victoria.


The VVCCC website was instrumental in capturing team entries and player and referee registration details prior to the event. The regulations, competition draw, accommodation and sponsor information were all displayed on the site prior to the event, with completed results progressively updated throughout the weekend. Apologies to mobile Apple users who were unfortunately not able to fully access the results as well as android users.


A comprehensive championship program was produced, and score sheets were all pre-printed with full team lists. A tournament Jury supervised a range of matches in each division throughout the weekend.


Volleyball Victoria must be acknowledged for their on-going assistance in supporting the appointment of a Technical Delegate, which ensures the regulations are consistently implemented. VVI also supports the appointment of a Referee Delegate who manages the referee panel and provides support and feedback to referees during the weekend. The provision of independent and highly qualified referees for all division one matches and finals, contributes significantly in raising the standard of matches and provides the opportunity for all participants to observe the latest officiating techniques and interpretations of the rules. Referee of the Tournament was Bob Copeland and the Referee Encouragement Award went to Jessica Lawton.


Women’s Division Three saw an up and coming Maffra convincingly defeat South Gippsland, 25-15, 25-17, 25-6 for the Bronze medal. The Gold medal was won by the up and coming Sunraysia side who continued a remarkable run of 5 successive 5 set victories defeating the experienced Riddells Creek combination, 15-25, 19-25, 25-12, 26-24, 20-18.


In Women’s Division Two a ladder error saw the fourth placed team altered at 8.30 am and the Bronze medal match rescheduled from 9.00am to 11.00am for which the organisers sincerely apologized. Eventually South Gippsland managed to break away from Geelong in a very tight 5-setter to capture the Bronze medal, 25-23, 14-25, 28-26, 28-30, 15-11. The Gold medal was won in straight sets by South West Pirates (Warrnambool), 25-14, 25-17, 25-17.


The Women’s Division One Bronze medal was won by South Gippsland over Horsham, 21-25, 25-23, 25-22, 25-21. The Gold medal was won by a dominant Latrobe Valley, with a 3-set win over recent rivals and previously undefeated Bendigo, 25-16, 25-16, 25-17


The Women’s All-Star Sevens are as follows:


Division Three – Mikayla Underwood & Bridie Williamson (Maffra), Nicole Penny & Anita Ramdohr (Riddells Creek), Rochelle Chester (Bellarine), Cayla Fawdry (Sunraysia) Best Setter: Kalami White (Maffra)


Division Two – Tara Blain, Cheree McKean & Gabrielle Loughead, (South West Pirates) Natasha Hibma (South Gippsland), Jessica Lawton (Latrobe Valley), Best Setter: Kilby Todd (Bendigo), Best Libero: Martina Di Venere (Geelong)


Division One – Kathryn McHugh (South Gippsland), Rebecca Ingram (Latrobe Valley), Brooke Freckleton (Horsham), Emma Regan (Bendigo), Helen Fisher (Bairnsdale), Best Setter: Kara Johnson (Horsham), Best Libero: Phoebe Trembath (Latrobe Valley)


In Men’s Division Three, Geelong finished third to take the Bronze medal. The Gold medal was convincingly won by Riddells Creek over Sunraysia in 3 sets, 25-12, 25-17, 25-21.


The Men’s Division Two Bronze medal was won in 3-sets by Riddells Creek over Bellarine, 25-15, 25-17, 25-19. The Gold medal was won in straight sets by Horsham over South West Pirates, 25-21, 25-12, 25-22.


In Men’s Division One, Ballarat saved their best for the last round when they defeated Horsham in 5 sets. The result didn’t get Ballarat into the medal rounds but allowed Latrobe Valley into second place and pushed Horsham down to the Bronze medal match where they defeated Sunraysia in 3 tight sets; 25-21, 25-22, 25-23. The Gold medal match was an exciting repeat of recent year’s clashes with Latrobe Valley surging from behind in the third set to defeat Bendigo, 3-0: 25-21, 25-19, 25-22.


The Men’s All-Star Seven awards are as follows:


Division Three – Edward Barake, Rhys Lade & Ryan Luke (Riddells Creek), Kade Zrna, Tom Hermans & Lachie Scherger (Sunraysia), Best Setter: Matthew Keech (Geelong)


Division Two – Aaron Krahe (Bellarine), James Holland & Tom Beks (South West Pirates), Jon Fitzgerald (Horsham), Gavin Penny (Riddells Creek), Best Setter: Nathan Berry (Horsham), Best Libero: Scott Davidson (Horsham)


Division One –Matt Gordon (Bendigo), Tom Murnane (Ballarat), Ashby Smith (Sunraysia), Cam Robinson & Nick Adamson (Horsham), Best Setter: Matthew Berry (Horsham) and Best Libero: Josh Gordon (Bendigo).


The 2019 Country Championship are scheduled for Bendigo.


Howard Williams

VVCCC Technical Delegate